Moving from IDE to Atmel Studio

Hi all!

I designed a board with an atmega328p on it and I have a simple code running on it, everything's good. I would like to "rewrite" the code on Atmel Studio, but without the Arduino main libraries. Aside from digitalWrite and similar functions that are pretty easy to rewrite working directly on the registers, there should be a lot more behind that is unseen by the IDE users (I/O for sure and more I guess).

Is there any guide to follow (or a template of "blink" for example, even better) or should I figure all by myself?

Well, you have all the source code for the arduino libraries...

And its just possible that those that have had the most success in doning this are over in the Atmel Studio support forums.

I'm very new to this myself, making a part migration from the Arduino IDE to Atmel Studio so I can use an interactive debugger, data visualiser etc., so I am joining this thread to see what comes out of it.

With atmega328p arduino applications, I believe you have the option of importing an Arduino application directly. With the board I am using, an atmega4809 (megaAVR-0 series) eXplained, as i discovered, you can't.

Then you have to decide if you use the ATMEL START development tool or directly use raw gcc C++. I've just about got to the stage of roughing out bare metal equivalents of Serial.print, port access (digitalWrite() etc. ) and a millis() equivalent.

I feel I'm pioneering a bit because I am finding bugs in the official "getting started" examples for my board which indicates that nobody has really used them, such as forgetting to activate the pullup resistor on a read button example, or not noticing that the built in led is wired on the high side so everything is inverted.