MPU6050 GY-521 no sense output

Hi All,

I am not an expert of electronics so don't judge me :D.

I recently got an arduino nano which is now connected to a GY-521 gyro/accelerometer. I indeed scanned with the i2cscanner script and the sensor is detected. Whenever I use the basic scripts from the arduino playground I get raw values, which I can actually "read".

Recently, I installed the i2cdevlib since I wanted to try the teapot example. Everything was ok no weird message during compilation and I indeed installed all the libraries for arduino and processing. I do not have any error message during compilation, however, first the plane doesn't move when I move the sensor and if I open the serial monitor i get these no sense values:

K58¨ò¬e(åº"ºeÊ(wJêãn¸fÊe%ʦ

Any help? :)

Thanks,

G

Make sure the baud rate of the serial monitor matches the baud rate in Serial.begin().

Do you mean the number 115200? :D

Yes they do. I didn't change anything so far.

Sorry I thought you meant the one in processing. Actually now I can read the output in the serial monitor. THANKS!

Any idea why my plane is not moving?

So... If i press the reset button on the nano I get this

Send any character to begin DMP programming and demo: Initializing I2C devices... Testing device connections... MPU6050 connection successful

but still the plane is not responding.

Can you put print statements in the processing code to see if you are getting data from the Arduino?

How do I do that?

In the Processing IDE, the bottom part of the window is the console. You can use print( a_variable); or print("a string"); to print out troublshooting data to the console. Put a print after the serial reception portion to see what is actually going into the Processing program

Ok I changed the serial port to a specific serial port with this line:

String portName = "/dev/tty.wchusbserialfa130";

and then put:

println(portName)