MPU6050 - GY 521 with Arduino UNO R3 stuck at "Initializing I2C devices..."

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie to Arduino. I am trying to build myself a Self-Balancing Robot using Arduino UNO R3, MPU 6050 GY-521, and L293D Motor Driver Circuit. I am also using I2Cdevlib for MPU Values. Initially, in order to check whether all the components are working properly (because I shipped them overseas), I tried uploading blink on UNO and it worked. So, I know the Board is good. When I tried MPU6050 YPR, initially I had trouble later I got the values somehow (I don’t know how), but again I was pushed back to square 1. Initially, i had a problem where when I opened the Serial Monitor, it got stuck at “Initializing I2C devices…” later somehow it got fixed and I was able to see YPR values. But again it got stuck at “Initializing I2C devices…” and doesn’t move or respond beyond that. I even tried I2C Scanner and the Serial Monitor was stuck at “Scanning…” My Pin Connection

A4 → (SDA)

A5 → (SCL)

3.3V → VCC

GND → GND

2 → INIT

Please help me figure this one out. Am I making mistake in the Program or the Hardware connection or the Hardware itself? I even tried 5V but of no use for VCC

Code - http://pastebin.com/wDQyHHVN

Please help me in this one

Excellent Project

Looks Exactly like mine :) Balancing Bot I made

I See you are using a version ofJeff Rowberg code What is your plan?

GY 521 has a voltage regulator on the VCC pin to provide the mpu6050 with 3.3v so you should supply the GY 521 with 5V

Z

Hi zhomeslice,

I have tried even with 5V and got stuck with the same place. What is the next thing i should try to do ?

Thanks

If you applied 5V to a 3.3V sensor (e.g. accidentally expose the data pins to 5V), you destroyed it.

jremington: If you applied 5V to a 3.3V sensor (e.g. accidentally expose the data pins to 5V), you destroyed it.

look closely and don't scare him... It is protected! It has a 3.3 V regulator with its own pull up resistors on the 3.3V i2c Bus |500x292