Multi-analog output value smoothing function

Hello,

Firstly I need to mention that I am a rookie in terms of electrical engineering and C++ so please bear with me. I’m currently building a robot which will have several analog sensors attached and I want to be able to read the values of all of the sensors on the serial monitor. For experienced engineers you may know that the raw sensor readings can be a bit crazy at times which is why I included nicely designed code which does exactly what I want. See: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Smoothing

This is great however only really suits one sensor at a time. To be efficient, I’ve tried to create a function which generically does the ‘smoothing’ and returns the values to be updated to each individual value. See below:

const int numReadings = 10;     // maximum in array
int readings[numReadings];      // the readings from the analog input
int readIndex = 0;              // the index of the current reading
int total = 0;                  // the running total
int average = 0;                // the average

int inputPin = A0;
int led = 3;

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication with computer:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  // initialize all the readings to 0:
  for (int thisReading = 0; thisReading < numReadings; thisReading++) {
    readings[thisReading] = 0;
  }
}

int smoothValue(int workingTotal, int workingList[], int workingIndex, int sensorPin){
  // subtract the last reading from working list:
  workingTotal = workingTotal - workingList[workingIndex];
  // read from the sensor:
  workingList[workingIndex] = analogRead(sensorPin);
  // add the new reading to the total:
  workingTotal = workingTotal + workingList[workingIndex];
  // advance to the next position in the array:
  workingIndex = workingIndex + 1;

// if we're at the end of the array...
  if (workingIndex >= numReadings) {
  // ...wrap around to the beginning:
  workingIndex = 0;
  }
  // calculate the average: