Multi Button LED Help for Hockey

I posted the basically the following post in the wrong forum section I believe. I couldn't delete it, so I hope a moderator can for me.....

Hello, I'm a total newbie to this site as well as programming in general. There is definitely a lot of useful info on here. I've checked out some of the information regarding timers involving LEDs, but I haven't found anything that specifically answered what I'm looking to do. I recently bought a table hockey game, and I want to simulate what happens at an actual hockey game.

I'd like to use a breadboard for this project, but please let me know if using the Arduino itself would be easier. I apologize for not being very knowledgeable in this subject matter. In terms of lights, I only plan on using one green LED and one red LED for this project. Basically, I want to press a button on the breadboard and have a green LED be off for 180 seconds and then turn on for 5 seconds to simulate the end of a period, and then turn off. To start the next cycle, I'd like to just push the same button. When a goal is scored, I'd like to press a button on the breadboard to make the red LED turn on instantly for 5 seconds and then turn back off, and not interrupt the 180 second timer for the green LED.

I've read so many forums on here and am still confused. Can anyone help me with this project? Any help for developing this code would be greatly appreciated, and I apologize if I have offended anyone with this post for my lack of experience.

Hello and welcome,

Your project looks simple, but I understand that if you are very new to scripting, it can be confusing.

So here is an example that will do the first part that you described. Study it carefully. Once you understood how it works, the second part should be very easy to add to this code.

#include <Button.h> // https://github.com/JChristensen/Button

const uint8_t button1Pin  =  2; // Connect a button from pin 2 to GND