Multi-mode Autonomous Robot

I am working on putting together a fairly in-depth robot project. I want to go ahead and plan to make sure that the controller I use will have the capability to accomplish everything from the beginning.

What I would like to know is whether or not the Arduino Uno can do what I plan.

My goal is to have a 4 position toggle to run different modes.

1) PC controlled over wifi 2) Gaming controller or phone app over bluetooth 3) Autonomous follow with basic object collision avoidance 4) Stationary voice/sound activated actions/noises

Yes I realize this is complex. Yes I have almost 10 years of robot building experience. No I have never worked with the Arduino before. My goal is to build 1 mode at a time expanding on what I have already done.

Is it possible? What basic controller parts/shields would you recommend for each mode?

Thanks

Is it possible?

Of course it is possible. Whether the Arduino is capable, or not, remains to be seen.

Connecting a WiFi shield and a voice recognition shield at the same time may, or may not, be possible. It would depend on whether there are pin conflicts that can not be worked out.

Whether there is enough memory to deal with all the modes, or not, depends on which Arduino you choose.

Arduino could be a great choice to read analog sensor values, and use GPIO to control motors, led's and so on. Ive build a similar robot and I had some problems with Arduino UNO, FIO, and MEGA: I was running out of RAM. I was able to pull everything off with arduino DUE. DUE however is a fairly new board so there are some annoying issues which require workarounds. Also, some libraries are incompatible with arduino DUE

You may want to consider using a Raspberry PI and use it as a main brain which connects to wifi and does most of the processing. You can link the arduino to PI and use arduino as your ADC (pi has no analog pins) and to write PWM.