multi tasking using Millis() help required

Hi, I am a novice with Arduino and programming in general and am slowly moving on to writing code that is a bit more complicated (for me anyway).

Basically this is what I am trying to do…

I have a serial device that will return the number of ‘events’ it has stored in it if I send it an = serial command. It will return a {=,nnnn} where the nnnn represents a decimal number from 0 to 9999.

I used some examples from the very helpful Nick Gammon and managed to cobble something that returns the number of events successfully using:

#include <Bounce.h>

typedef enum {  NONE, GOT_COMMA, GOT_CURLY } states;

// current state-machine state
states state = NONE;
// current partial number
unsigned int currentValue;

const unsigned int HASH_BUTTON = 30;
const unsigned int DEBOUNCE_DELAY = 20;

void setup ()
{
  Serial.begin (19200);
  Serial2.begin(19200);
  state = NONE;

pinMode(HASH_BUTTON, INPUT); 
}  // end of setup

Bounce hash_button(HASH_BUTTON, DEBOUNCE_DELAY);

void process_events (const unsigned int value)
{
  // do something with RPM 
  Serial.print ("EVENTS = ");
  Serial.print (value);
} // end of processRPM

void process_curly (const unsigned int value)
{
  Serial.println();
}

void handlePreviousState ()
{
  switch (state)
  {
  case GOT_COMMA:
    process_events (currentValue);
    break;
  case GOT_CURLY:
    process_curly(currentValue);
    break;
  }  // end of switch  

currentValue = 0; 
}  // end of handlePreviousState

void processIncomingByte (const byte c)
{
  if (isdigit (c))
  {
    currentValue *= 10;
    currentValue += c - '0';
  }  // end of digit
  else 
  {

// The end of the number signals a state change
    handlePreviousState ();

// set the new state, if we recognize it
    switch (c)
    {
    case ',':
      state = GOT_COMMA;
      break;
    case '}':
      state = GOT_CURLY;
      break;
    default:
      state = NONE;
      break;
    }  // end of switch on incoming byte