Multi-Threading making sketch not work

Hey guys, I haven’t been properly introduced, specially because I only found out about this forum just now (I know I know, I shouldn’t look for a comunity only when I need help… :cold_sweat:)

My name is Andre and I started playing with M/C’s a while ago. I have a very basic knowledge of how all this works, and I’m kinda stuck with this project me and a few friends are building.
Basically it is stepper motor and a display. It features 2 buttons to increase/decrease speed and another one to start/stop the spinning.
It should display the speed on an OLED display I got.

So, before I post the code, let me just try to explain what I did and what’s wrong.
I’m using a 20M020D stepper with a DRV8834 driver board. From what I learned, in order to make it spin, I provide a “pulse” to the board:

for (i = 0; i<10; i++)       // Iterate for 4000 microsteps.
  {
    digitalWrite(steppin, LOW);  // This LOW to HIGH change is what creates the
    digitalWrite(steppin, HIGH); // "Rising Edge" so the easydriver knows to when to step.
    delayMicroseconds(subdelay);      // This delay time is close to top speed for this
  }

Ok, very well. But I’m not a fan of using delays, specially because I need several stuff being done at the same time. So I found out about Multi-Threading and the TimedAction Library (http://playground.arduino.cc/Code/TimedAction). In order to use it with MicroSeconds instead of miliseconds, I tweaked it a little and called it TAMicro (that’s what you’re gonna see in the code, but it’s the exact same library only with millis() replaced for micros().

So I used that and pulsed the motor on a given interval, and used a function (included in the library) to change the speed (AKA, the frequency of the pulses). Worked like charm.