Multicoin Acceptor/Piggy Bank

Hi all!

A couple years ago, I used an Arduino board for a project in school. After re-sparking my interest and looking up some projects, I found one that interested me and seemed relatively easy to do. However, I have very little experience in C++. I didn’t do any of the coding on my last project, so debugging this code that I got from Github (https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit-Programmable-Piggy-Bank/blob/master/piggybank.ino) has been an immense challenge.

The project that I’m trying to construct is a piggy bank that accepts up to 4 coins (this code was meant for a 1 coin acceptor) and keeps track of the total amount of money along the way. The original code also includes an LED, which I am deciding to leave out. The code compiles and uploads just fine, but when I try it out, nothing happens. This is the original code:

/*********************
* connect the COIN wire to digital 2
* set the side switches to "FAST" "NC"
**********************/

// include the library code:
#include <Wire.h>
#include <Adafruit_MCP23017.h>
#include <Adafruit_RGBLCDShield.h>

// The shield uses the I2C SCL and SDA pins. On classic Arduinos
// this is Analog 4 and 5 so you can't use those for analogRead() anymore
// However, you can connect other I2C sensors to the I2C bus and share
// the I2C bus.
Adafruit_RGBLCDShield lcd = Adafruit_RGBLCDShield();

// These #defines make it easy to set the backlight color
#define RED 0x1
#define YELLOW 0x3
#define GREEN 0x2
#define TEAL 0x6
#define BLUE 0x4
#define VIOLET 0x5
#define WHITE 0x7

// attach coin wire to digital 2
#define COIN 2
int coins;
int brightness = 0;    // how bright the LED is
int fadeAmount = 5;    // how many points to fade the LED by
int fadebrightness = 0;    // how bright the LED is when it's flashing

void setup() {
    // declare pin 11 to be an output for LED:
  pinMode(11, OUTPUT);
  // Debugging output
  Serial.begin(9600);
  // set up the LCD's number of rows and columns: