Multimeter

Hi

I hope this isn't too off topic but I'm in the UK and I'd like to buy a multimeter. I'm fairly new to electronics in general so I don't really know what to look for.

Any helpful suggestions would be great.

Michael

Never buy the very cheapest ones, they are not very solid and not very reliable, but on the other hand theres no need to buy one of the very expenive ones with computer interface and what know i, you will probably never need it.

I also depends on how much you expect to use it, i mean if you are starting a electronics hobby and expect to use it a lot spend a little more.

If you want something that wil last you a long time you might look for one with auto scaling, and sligthly more expencive.

I don't know what the pricelevel for stuff like this is in the UK.

I bought one of these off ebay last year, I'm very pleased with it. Not very expensive but not too cheap either.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/PRO-DIGITAL-MULTIMETER-AC-DC-VOLTAGE-600V-DIODE-CHECK_W0QQitemZ160409411229QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET?hash=item2559255e9d

I'd take the "Professional" label with a large pinch of salt. If I were professional it would be a Fluke......

Looks pretty much like mine :-)

I use a basic $30 DMM from Radio Shack. Better then the 20+ year old analog meter i was using.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103176

Personally, I've never had a problem with the el-cheapo meters from Harbor Freight (discount chinese tool vendor); they tend to last for a fairly long time, they handle light abuse, and the batteries are typically standard 9V.

Not sure how you would be able to tell if there were an issue with one, unless you already owned a quality meter (Fluke or such), then you could probably compare readings...

:)

/not a professional