Multiple AND operators with in IF statement

I am new to Arduino, and I am trying my hands on LCD (16 X 2) UNO shield with Left/right/up/down/select and reset buttons to write a user interface for a further bigger project in future.

1. On intended user interface, I want user to select a number (N) by using up or down button followed by Select button. Maximum allowable number is 9 and minimum is 1.

2. The up, down, select buttons are attached to Analog 0 pin by array of voltage divider. The voltage of A0 (after ADC) on pressing buttons is: up=100, down=257, and select = 641.

3. After pressing Select button a new interface is intended to be presented for further action.

I am facing problem that in my code pasted below, as long as I do not keep the conditions of maximum allowable number 9 or minimum allowable number 1 in if statements of UP and DOWN button. I am able to get intended behavior of Up, down, select keys. But if I keep conditions of max 9 or min 1 up and down key does not behave as intended. What error I am making?

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd( 8,9,4,5,6,7 );  //interfacing pins
int N=1;
int readVolt=analogRead(0);
void setup()
{
// Set up the LCD's number of columns and rows:
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
// Print a brief BRAND RELATED message to the LCD.
  lcd.setCursor(0,0);
  lcd.print("Welcome Screen");
  delay(1000);
  // User Menu Interface on LCD to Set the Number, Maximum Numbers can be 9
  lcd.clear();
  lcd.setCursor(0,0);
  lcd.print("Select Number");
  lcd.setCursor(0,1);
  lcd.print("Max Allowed");
  lcd.setCursor(15,1);
  lcd.print(9);
  // User interaction by Up and Down key unless Select Button is Pressed
	do{
	readVolt=analogRead(0);
	lcd.setCursor(15,0);
	lcd.print(N);
	lcd.setCursor(15,0);

if(readVolt < 120 && readVolt > 90 && N<=9){ // Up Button is Pressed
		N+=1;
		}

if (readVolt>230 && readVolt < 280 && N>=1){ // Down Button is Pressed
		N-=1;
		}
	} while(readVolt!=641); // Select Button is Pressed
   lcd.clear();