Multiple Arduino Connection

Newbie here! Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong :)

Did my research and found 3 possible solutions for multiple arduino connection 1. Serial Port - use tx and rx - no clock; devices need to agree on data rate - a start and stop bit is added to each frame [which affects data] 2. SPI - use four lines (miso, mosi, sck, csn where n requires 1 i/o pin) - only 1 master 3. I2C - use sda and scl - add extra bit [ack] to frame - multi master system - support upto 1008 slave devices?

I'll be connecting a lot of motors and sensors so I'm going to need more than 2 arduinos.

What connection should I use? Serial communication only support 2 arduinos but I've seen others using it to connect even 4. Is it advisable? What are the other pros and cons? If I'll be using I2C, what does 24LC256 do? Is it for data storage only? Is it needed if I'll be controlling multiple arduino?

I'll be connecting a lot of motors and sensors so I'm going to need more than 2 arduinos.

No, use a port expander or shift registers to give you more I/O.

It is a classic beginners mistake to think you need more processors when you only need more I/O. If you use more processors you get a very messy inefficient solution that is hard to code. Either get a Mega with more I/O built in or a chip like the 23017 ( I2C ) or 23S17 ( SPI ) port expander.

what does 24LC256 do? Is it for data storage only?

Link broken? It is an I2C memory chip for data storage only nothing else.

Is it needed if I'll be controlling multiple arduino?

No, but then you won't be controlling multiple Arduinos will you. ;)

Grumpy_Mike: It is a classic beginners mistake to think you need more processors when you only need more I/O. If you use more processors you get a very messy inefficient solution that is hard to code.

Amen to that!

The only justification for using multiple processors is when the I/O is geographically distributed and you wish to minimise the length of data paths.