Multiple Arduino installation (don't need to be communicating with each other)

Hi all,

I’m quite new to using Arduino. Anyway, I have an exhibition coming up and here’s what I’m proposing:

12 Arduino units placed around the room, each connected to either a motor, turning on or off a speaker, or on or off a light.

They will all be connected to a master which will give them an order to play in. The individual units do not need to communicate with each other, they are all performing individual functions regardless of what else is going on.

MAIN QUESTION:

How feasible is this project?

SUB QUESTION:

Suggestions for a way to host 12 arduinos following the same command lines. I’m imagining each will be given an identifier and will respond to that when it appears in the sequence. Each will be active for 5 minutes or will perform it’s function (lights on) until the ID comes up in the sequence again (lights off).

I have had quite a look for something like this around the internet and these forums but couldn’t find much (maybe I didn’t look hard enough). Like I said, I’m relatively new to using Arduino and the turnaround for this exhibition is quite quick so I don’t feel I have a huge amount of time to be teaching myself how to get to this point on my own.

Any help would be massively appreciated!

Robin

What does “Arduino unit” mean? Controlers and, or driver boards?

Sounds totally feasible.

Build one, make it work, copy 11 times (I assume they're all the same kits, just maybe different sound & different light sequence). Write your code smartly so you can easily make small changes to the output without affecting the command receiving parts.

Use some kind of identification - a separate wire to each, or if you go wireless a serial number.

How do you plan on having the master send the commands to the slaves? Wired or wireless? What protocol?

Railroader: What does "Arduino unit" mean? Controlers and, or driver boards?