Multiple buttons on ONE analog pin

Hello

I'm looking to setup 5 buttons on one analog pin, much as described in a post here: http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1226896251.

I'd like to add a bit of functionality to the above however, such as: - Hardware debouncing (as discussed here: http://www.all-electric.com/schematic/debounce.htm); does not seem very complicated nor expensive; - Implement ISR on the analog pin for asynchronous button press event handling; Being a newbie, I can only speculate as to the benefits of the above approach! The resistor ladder has shown to work well in handling 5 or even more buttons. My idea of hardware debounce is to hopefully simplify code and provide a clean/square signal to the analog pin. A clean signal on the analog pin would make for reliable interrupt handling (ie no spurious interrupts caused by a bouncing signal). An ISR provides additional code simplification, and eliminates the need to poll the pin for changes in state.

I've seen the various bits and pieces of what I'm trying to do on this site. I'm wondering if anyone has put these concepts together!

Thanks in advance!

Ron

Implement ISR on the analog pin for asynchronous button press event handling;

Don't think you can do this as an ISR requires a digital event, what you have is simply a read. The best you could do is a series of comparators logically ORed together.

My idea of hardware debounce is to hopefully simplify code and provide a clean/square signal to the analog pin.

Yes that is my idea as well, how are you going to achieve this, apart from a capacitor slugging the input. The problem with that is you mistake an intermediate voltage for a key press.

Implement ISR on the analog pin

Can't be done.

If you add a cap to slow the response down to remove bounce then you will have to track the voltage changes and only accept the value when it's stable for X mS, which is the same as debouncing.

I'm learning here - so do bear with me.