Multiple Errors When Verifying Code

I’m kind of new to arduino and am having trouble with the code I’m trying to use with a serial controlled car I am building. I am using an arduino nano and I am trying to get the commands to work.

here is the code:

String command; // variable to store the command in

void setup(){
  // start serial and set up pins
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(6, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(7, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(11, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(12, OUTPUT);
}

void loop(){
  // systematically build up the command one letter at a time
  if (Serial.available() > 0){
    char c = Serial.read();

if (c == '\n'){     // is this the end of the command
      handleCommand(command);
      command = ' ';
    }
    else{
      command += c;
    }
  }
}

void handleCommand(String com){
  // move the car
  if (com == ' forward'){
    digitalWrite(7, 1);
    digitalWrite(12, 1);
    delay(500);
    digitalWrite(7, 0);
    digitalWrite(12, 0);
  } else if (com == ' back'){
    digitalWrite(6, 1);
    digitalWrite(11, 1);
    delay(500);
    digitalWrite(6, 0);
    digitalWrite(11, 0);
  } else if (com == ' left'){
    digitalWrite(6, 1);
    digitalWrite(12, 1);
    delay(100);
    digitalWrite(6, 0);
    digitalWrite(12, 0);
  } else if (com == ' right'){
    digitalWrite(7, 1);
    digitalWrite(11, 1);
    delay(100);
    digitalWrite(7, 0);
    digitalWrite(11, 0);
  }
}

the errors I am receiving are:

arduino_car_bluetooth.ino.ino: In function 'void loop()':
arduino_car_bluetooth.ino.ino:17: error: ambiguous overload for 'operator=' in 'command = ' ''
C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:86: note: candidates are: String& String::operator=(const String&) <near match>
C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\arduino\cores\arduino/WString.h:87: note:                 String& String::operator=(const char*) <near match>