Multiple instances of Arduino and multiple serial port monitors

Hi all

I'm new to Arduino and am working on a number of ESP8266 devices. One of the devices is a web server and 3 of them are web clients.

I can open 4 instances of Arduino development environment (1.8.2) but hoped I could also have 4 serial monitors to check the debug output of all the devices independently.

The problem is that if I set instance 1 to COM20, all of the other instances change to COM20. If I set any instance to COM21, all change to COM21.

Is there a procedure I could follow to run 4 (or more) instances and have 4 (or more) instances of the serial port monitor?

I hope this isn't a duplication, but I did search the site for this issue, but can't find it.

Thanks for reading....

Steve

There are ways but with the "default" install of the IDE then there is currently no way.

However there are a few programs out there that allow you to do it. If you have advance to the level of needing to do that (which is above the simplicity of the IDE) Then PLX_DAQ V2 (see this post)

Or many of the other free terminal programs that will allow you yo open multiple instances of the program.

Hi Ballscrewbob and thanks for your very quick reply.

It's a pity the IDE can't handle multiple COM ports as it would be great to click on Upload in each of 4 ide's, go and have a coffee, come back and it's done.

I find that with only 1 COM port usable, it's quite easy to send the wrong code to a device, unless you're pretty sharp at port switching.

I did use 4 instances of Teraterm which worked OK, but then to re-program all devices, you have to disconnect all 4 Teraterm instances and then choose each serial port manually in the IDE.

Would it be possible to have multiple installations of the the Arduino IDE in different folders? Just grasping at straws....

My background is PIC and I'm pretty amazed at how quickly you can put a project together with Arduino.

Cheers

Steve