multiple key but with low pin+multiple key press

hello, i am new to this arduino and still in the process of learning. I need some help regarding to this circuit(see attachment) key scanning. I already read in the forum that somebody already did it(i think) but i don’t know how he do it. can someone shed some light.

the thread

From the circuit it shows that it need diode at every switch,but is it possible if not using diode?

this thread said it is possible,but maybe i am mistaken. can somebody please confirm?

mnasraff: From the circuit it shows that it need diode at every switch,but is it possible if not using diode?

It's possible, but since Halloween's approaching just be aware of ghosting.

That form of keypad needs the diodes. The typical matrix keypad, when the input and output pins are separate, can do single keys without diodes. On your form of keypad, where the pins are used as both inputs and outputs, you need the diodes to correctly detect single key presses. The way to read this keypad is to set six of the seven pins to INPUT_PULLUP and set one of the pins to OUTPUT and LOW. This will cause a LOW on those pins grounded to the LOW pin through their respective switches and diodes. Without the diodes if you press the button that connects B to A you will see LOW on B when you pull A LOW but also LOW on A when you pull B low.

The diodes also give you N-key rollover: the ability to detect any number of simultaneous key presses.