Multiple MAX7219 common RSET

Hi,

Hopefully simple, I want to control the brightness level of a string of 4 MAX7219 controlled 8x8 LED displays. I'd like them to have an identical wide range of brightness. Using a 10K RSET on each module gives me the higher level brightness I want, but using a library such as MD_MAX72XX and setting the intensity to 0 yields still too bright a display say for night/sleeping time.

I could just up the resistor value to reduce the low end, but that would also reduce the high end. My thought was to have a 10K rset in series with a 50K POT.

Can ALL displays use the same fixed-resistor+POT arrangement? Going for a single external control for the whole display rather than a wiper/knob per module. Or a single internal control from a digital potentiometer.

Complete noob here, I'm thinking I'm missing something obvious here.

Sorry if this obvious to all but me, but searching around a bit I've not found a definitive answer.

Thanks!

kolalde:
Can ALL displays use the same fixed-resistor+POT arrangement?

I very much doubt it.

Replacing each 10k (to bright) with a 60k+ resistor will improve the situation.

You cannot use the same pot for all displays.

The max chip only has 16 brightness levels and brightness levels are linear, unlike the human eye.

Maybe this is an idea: connect 10K resistors from the ISET pins of each max chip to an Arduino output pin. Connect 60K resistors from the ISET pins to a second Arduino pin. When you want bright displays, set the first Arduino pin to OUTPUT & HIGH and the other pin to INPUT. When you want the displays dim, set the second pin to OUTPUT & HIGH & the first to INPUT.

Let's simplify this a bit. :grinning:

You have four displays. You will need four Arduino pins (just four).