multiple mcp23017 and EEPROM

I’m pretty new to arduino’s and programming, but i’m a fast learner. I’m pretty proud of what I have achieved so far just by trying and making mistakes.
Right now I have written a code for sending input/output information to 3x MCP23017 which is pretty straigth forward. I’m using the <Adafruit_MCP23017.h> for this.
The GPA ports are inputs with momentary pushbuttons and the GPB’s are outputs toggled by the momentary buttons to drive relays (push once is on, push again off). I need those 3 expanders because I need 24 ins and 24 outs to drive the relays (with a transistor array since the coils are 24v).
So far so good and it’s working as expected. 8)
Now I want to write and read the last states of the GPB outputs (and maybe some memories) so that it comes back to the last state after power down. So I guess I need to write and read the i2c state for that, but i’m lost on what code to use and where to put it.

The only really a bit usefull information is in this topic, but it’s 5 years old: https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=291470.0
Could someone please help me with this?
I’m also wondering if the onboard EEPROM (uno) will be enough for this or maybe it’s a good idea to use an external EEPROM using i2c.

code.txt (24.2 KB)

Why do you want to read the port multiplexer output pins ? The status of the pins has been set previously by the Arduino, so the logical place to record their status at the time these have been explicitly set. Or maybe I have misunderstood something about your set up.

The other thing is that there is a lot of repetition in your code:

. . .
  //Condition Relay 34
  if (reading34 == HIGH && previous34 == LOW && millis() - time > debounce) {
    if (state34 == HIGH)
      state34 = LOW;
    else
      state34 = HIGH;
    time = millis();
  }

//Condition Relay 35
  if (reading35 == HIGH && previous35 == LOW && millis() - time > debounce) {
    if (state35 == HIGH)
      state35 = LOW;
    else
      state35 = HIGH;