Multiple motion detection: arduino/webcam?

Hi,

I am a novice with Arduino, having followed only a few tutorials. These have been enough to get a grasp of what can be done, and so I want to try to create an installation.

My setup is as follows: I want to have 10 water pumps equally spaced out in a line about 1m apart. I want to have some form of motion detection monitoring the pumps, so that when a person comes near, the pump will turn on - creating an interactive fountain.

I have done motion detection in Flash AS2, using differences in consecutive images in a video feed, to decide if motion has occurred, and I have briefly investigated Flash communicating with the Arduino.

However, this solution requires a PC to be available. The environment in which I plan to place this project is dirty, dusty and really not suitable for my expensive laptop, the only PC I have!

I have read on this forum and elsewhere on the net about using motion detection switches - mostly dealing with using a servo to turn something towards the motion, normally with 3 motion detection switches. My needs are a little simpler.

So I signed up here to ask if it is a feasible idea to obtain 10 motion detection switches (ideally infra-red for night use as well as day) and hook them up to a single Arduino controller, which in turn will detect which are being triggered, and turn on the appropriate pump - or, should I attempt the Flash route?

If I do use 10 x motion detection units, will length of cable separating the units from the arduino cause any degradation of signal? I envisage the maximum length of cable from a detector to the arduino of about 15m

Thanks for any suggestions you can offer.

I am not sure what kind of "switches" you are referring to, can you post a link? your description isn't very clear.

That is a long run, and in an electrically noisy environment could pick up a lot of noise, if the signal is digital you could use differential signalling to reduce noise.