Multiple outputs to share a data line

Hey guys,

Been doing a little research and I'm a little new to the embedded area so I'm not exactly sure what to look for on this. I would like to have a master chip and some number of slave chips that all receive commands using a bus (I would like to have 1 master-controlled clock line, 1 mosi, and 1 miso, though I'm not using SPI). In some cases, I would like the master chip to be able to select which slave should be providing an active output as part of the command structure, and in other cases, I would like to be able to send a command and detect if one or more slaves are setting a bit (to show that one or more slaves had an error, as an example - but I wouldn't care which ones failed). Is this design something that can be achieved easily, or would I need to expand the design and have one data line per slave, and use a multiplexer or shift register to retrieve the values from the slaves? I would prefer to have just the three lines if possible because I don't know exactly how many slaves will be present, but I suppose I can set a cap if absolutely necessary. Do you guys have any ideas or suggestions on general approaches that I can use to achieve this goal?

Thanks - Harrison

If your master can control things so that only one slave talks at any one time and so that the master knows which slave is talking then you could easily transfer the data on a single line.

Why not use the built-in SPI or I2C systems? Or maybe even Serial?

If you describe your project fully it will be easier to give useful advice.

...R

Keep in mind that SPI/I2C/Serial only work over short distances without extra hardware.

For a project of mine I need to control 5 slaves over a longer distance. Say around 50 meter in total. That's why I bought MAX485 modules for every Arduino to communicate over serial.

Robin2: If you describe your project fully it will be easier to give useful advice.