Multiple pushbuttons for different parts of code?

Hi! I'm new to Arduino. Know very little about programming, and have tried some ideas but have trouble compiling a working code.After spending days searching the Internet decided to as for help to you guys.

So I'm building an Arduino metronome to help me and other musicians keep within the tempo.
As a base i am using a knight rider like code with 7led's.

int pinArray[] = {2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8};
int count = 0;
int timer = 10;

void setup(){
  for (count=0;count<7;count++) {
    pinMode(pinArray[count], OUTPUT);
  }
}

void loop() {
  for (count=0;count<6;count++) {
   digitalWrite(pinArray[count], HIGH);
   delay(timer);
   digitalWrite(pinArray[count + 1], HIGH);
   delay(timer);
   digitalWrite(pinArray[count], LOW);
   delay(timer*2);
  }
  for (count=6;count>0;count--) {
   digitalWrite(pinArray[count], HIGH);
   delay(timer);
   digitalWrite(pinArray[count - 1], HIGH);
   delay(timer);
   digitalWrite(pinArray[count], LOW);
   delay(timer*2);
  }
}

by changing the int timer value - the speed of leds flashing should change. I plan to copy/paste the code 5 times with different timer value to achieve different speeds/tempos

the idea is to use 5difrent pushbuttons to activate 5 different tempos (most often used).

for example - if the button1 is pushed then a tempo1 begins
if a button2 is pushed the first tempo stops and a different one begins and so on!

Would greatly appreciate any help with the code.
Thanks in advance.

So - take the pushbuttons, and connect one side of each button to ground, other side to an Arduino pin. Set the pinMode() for the pins to INPUT_PULLUP. When the button is pressed, digitalRead() on the pin will return 0/LOW, otherwise 1/HIGH. Then just check them in loop, and if one is pressed, change the tempo to the appropriate tempo.