Multiple pushbuttons (Note: Need reply ASAP)

For a project, I am planning to connect multiple solderless breadboards to an Arduino, one of which is going to contain LEDs and resistors and the other of which is going to contain two pushbuttons. I need to know if the Arduino can differentiate between the two pushbuttons and if this scheme would work. A reply as soon as possible would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I am an Arduino newbie and would like an answer explained in non-technical terms.

Sure no problem. Just make sure all the ground lines of the breadboards are wired to the Arduino's ground pin. A switch would wire to a Arduino digital input pin, one pin for each switch. The LED/resistors would wire to Arduino digital output pins.

Lefty

Thanks for the answer. And one more thing: could the Arduino back send which pushbutton was pressed to my computer via serial? And are there any important things to consider when writing the code for this? Thanks again. :)

Its all in how you code it. But yes you could easly code it so when a button is pressed it sends a message to be displayed threw the serial monitor and light up an LED.

One way to think about an Arduino board, is to abstrate it as a ‘black box’ that has a certain number of digital inputs, digital outputs, analog inputs, analog outputs (real PWM outputs), serial data output and input. All these I/O pins can wire to anything that is electrically compatable with voltage level that your specific Arduino board uses, most are +5vdc but a few are 3.3vdc.

Now what relationships or actions that take place between all these I/O pins is totally dependent on the software program, called a sketch, that you develop. About the only restriction is that some signals (audio, video and very high speed digital may run too fast for the fundamental capabilities of the Arduino processor which runs at a 16mhz clock speed.

Lefty