Multiple RGB LEDs and DC Motors

Hello, I am new to all this so I apologize in advance.

What I need to do is to control the speed of 12 dc motors and the color of 12 RGB LEDs simultaneously and independently.
I know how to control the speed of 1 DC motor but I have no idea how to connect everything together.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you in advance!

If you use Neopixels instead of RGB LEDs, you need one I/O pin and then use either Fastled or Neopixel library.

If the motors are simple DC and not reversible, you can use PWM to control their speed.

A driver transistor between the Arduino and motor is needed.

An Arduino Mega has 14 PWM pins.

You do need an appropriately sized power supply for the motors and an external 5v power supply for your LEDS.

larryd:
If you use Neopixels instead of RGB LEDs, you need one I/O pin and then use either Fastled or Neopixel library.

If the motors are simple DC and not reversible, you can use PWM to control their speed.

A driver transistor between the Arduino and motor is needed.

An Arduino Mega has 14 PWM pins.

You do need an appropriately sized power supply for the motors and an external 5v power supply for your LEDS.

Thank you so much for your quick response! So, if I have an Arduino Mega would using an AC to DC adapter provide sufficient energy? And also do I need 12 transistors (one for each motor?) I'm sorry if my questions are stupid, just trying to learn. Thanks again.

A suitable AC-DC adapter would work. But to choose one you need to know what voltage and how much current your motors require.

If you want your motors to be controlled independently then yes you will need a transistor (preferably a MOSFET) for each motor.

Steve

slipstick:
A suitable AC-DC adapter would work. But to choose one you need to know what voltage and how much current your motors require.

If you want your motors to be controlled independently then yes you will need a transistor (preferably a MOSFET) for each motor.

Steve