Multiple stepper motors

I have just made one circuit for the Unipolar stepper motor using the L293B driver chip with arduino using the following code
#include <Stepper.h>

// steps value is 360 / degree angle of motor
#define STEPS 200

// create a stepper object on pins 4, 5, 6 and 7
Stepper stepper(STEPS, 4, 5, 6, 7);

void setup()
{
}

void loop()
{
stepper.setSpeed(60);
stepper.step(200);
delay(100);
stepper.setSpeed(20);
stepper.step(-50);
delay(100);
}

However i intend to control five stepper motors simultaneously with the Arduino,what do i have to change in the code ,i first want to try it out with two stepper motors so far i have two circuits of the L293B,but i am still puzzled in the code.

You will likely run into problems with the Delay's when trying to control multiple motors.

Look at the example in the playground called "blink without delay" it shows one way to deal with it.

I have some experience with steppers, bipolar only and unfortunately not with the l293 nor with Tom Igoes library found in the standard examples.

If it works a bit like most other libraries this may be… an example to drive 2 motors.

#include <Stepper.h>

// steps value is 360 / degree angle of motor
#define STEPS 200

// create a stepper object on pins 4, 5, 6 and 7
Stepper stepper1(STEPS, 4, 5, 6, 7);
Stepper stepper2(STEPS, 8, 9, 10, 11);

void setup()
{
}

void loop()
{
    stepper1.setSpeed(60);
    stepper2.setSpeed(20);
    stepper1.step(200);
    stepper2.step(-50);
    delay(100);
    stepper1.setSpeed(20);
    stepper2.setSpeed(60);
    stepper1.step(-50);
    stepper2.step(200);
    delay(100);
}

In Toms example code he didn’t use delays, not using them is often the best…, but I just adapted your code a little, left the delays in the code and besides controlling the steppers it should just wait for a small moment after each turn.