multiplexer vs shift register

Hi, I'm starting on a project that will be reading in 40 senors. They are attached to the strings of a piano, so I will need to be able to respond to them very quickly. My first instinct is to use a multiplexer and have it be interrupt driven, but a friend seems quite convinced that I should use a shift register.

Do anyone here have any thoughts on which one to use with the arduino? I am new to the arduino world, but have done real time embedded programming before on motorola microprocessors.

Thanks

Hi, I'm starting on a project that will be reading in 40 senors. They are attached to the strings of a piano, so I will need to be able to respond to them very quickly

. How quickly, exactly? What seems fast to a person (1/100 of a second) is ages to a microcontroller running at 16Mhz.

What kind of data are you getting? Just a digital bit, or do you need an analog value?

My first instinct is to use a multiplexer and have it be interrupt driven, but a friend seems quite convinced that I should use a shift register.

Pro's of using a multiplexer: - yes, it is faster than a serial shift register - there are analog versions con's of using a multiplexer: - uses more pins (for 40 sensors you'd need at least 7 pins). - you can only get data from 1 sensor at a time.

Pro's of using a shift register: - they can be daisy chained for a large number of sensors - only uses 3 pins, no matter how many bits - you can get data for multiple bits at the same time con's of using a shift register: - digital (1 bit per sensor) only - takes a little more work to get the data (slower)

FWIW, I don't think a shift register is that much slower than a multiplexer on a human reaction time scale. It's only an issue if microseconds count.