Multiplexing RGB LEDs but not for cube

Hey there, So I'm new to electronics but I'm a decent enough programmer. I'm building this RGB LED setup for a band. Basically it involves 9 spheres that I light from within with a couple RGB LEDs each. Eventually I'll build some software that lets me control them precisely, etc. but right now I just want to get the basic setup working so that I can individually control each sphere's lights. The lights inside a single sphere will do the same thing, so I'm assuming it's logically like having one LED in there, I just connect 'em. Yeah? My main problem is the multiplexing, I find it complicated. I'm also told it would be impossible to 'plex this many LEDs (27 I guess) even with charlieplexing. What can I do?

Do you want to dim the LEDs as well as turn them on an off. If so you need a driver chip like the TLC5940. As an RGB LED has a common lead (anode or cathode) you can't Charley them.

http://arduino.cc/playground/Learning/TLC5940

Ah, yes, thank you! So I would only need one of these to power 9 units? Each unit being 2 RGB LEDs (inside each unit the LEDs do the same thing, but each separate unit does something different).

So I would only need one of these to power 9 units?

Well if each unit has 2 RGB LEDs that is 6 LEDs per unit. My maths says 16 / 6 = 2 units per TLC5940.

How far away from each other are these going to be? These chips use high speed signals and these don't travel well. Alternitavly you could use something like a shift bright to power each unit.

http://macetech.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=1

Each unit would be doing the same thing though, so I think it would just be 3 LEDs per unit really. They are going to be far apart, so maybe it won't work. At least 5 feet.

At least 5 feet

You might just get away with that.