Multiplexing with 64 LED light sensor inputs

Hey, so I'm pretty new to Arduino, and this is my first forum post. A long time ago I was shown a YouTube video of this guy who had made a "laser harp" where if you broke the stream of a laser with your hand, it would register that and make a sound. I want to supersize this project, making essentially a table (imagine a hollow coffee table with lasers running through it) of 64 lasers and sensors. (It came to that happy number because, since I am a pianist, I decided to make the "strings" 3/4 inch apart, and the table 4' long) I didn't know exactly where to post this, so I decided to break it up into a few different topics. The first and most pressing concern for me is this: How am I going to use 64 inputs, and what hardware do I need to do that? I want to use the method described here: http://playground.arduino.cc//Learning/LEDSensor to make light sensors, so I need to do that for 64 LEDs. How do I go about this? What hardware do I need? Boards, breadboxes? Thanks, James D.

An LED makes a poor light sensor and takes a long time to read. If you want to have sensors that are responsive you should use something designed for light sensing. Something like a photodiode or phototransistor.

In another thread you've indicated that you intend to use 650nm red laser diodes for the strings. That means you need a photodetector that will respond well at 650nm. It should have a narrow field of view so that it doesn't pick up too much room lighting or light scattered from other strings. I suggest this: http://uk.farnell.com/vishay/bpw17n/phototransistor-t3-4/dp/1045523.