Multipple stepper motor control via internet.

Hello,

I am new to micro controllers, i don't want to be rude asking questions so simple to answer for you, or the ones that actually are simple but the time actually is not on my side and i can't take all the information i find to cooperate with me.

I am thinking of a simple project.

The aim is to control multiple stepper motors, small water pumps, vacuum pump only one and several web cams and a lot of temperature and humidity sensors.

The movements of stepper are very simple, just to move a box to a certain point along X axis. Water pump need to be turned just for few times a day and it could be manually firstly, until i get a grip on the programming. Web cam is for watching how everything works. And the sensors....well, for feedback on temps and humidity.

The aim of my post here is that i read read read about micro controllers and i can't decide, does arduino is capable of these functions, or is it too expensive for a project like this? (i already know it's based on Atmel)

I have started to learn about it's programming, and that idea came to me. On the other hand, I'm a beginner on micro controllers, and i doubt i could handle something that isn't even on a board and prototype the board myself.

And apologies if i wrote into a wrong topic, but it kinda touches Internet, motors and sensors, so.. :)

Thank you in advance.

I am thinking of a simple project.

Ok then:-

The aim is to control multiple stepper motors, small water pumps, vacuum pump only one and several web cams and a lot of temperature and humidity sensors.

So why did you describe this complex project rather than the simple one you were thinking of?

What do you mean by control a Web Cam? The arduino is not fast enough to do anything with a video output.

Do these motors need to move at the same time? If so that increases the complexity.

or is it too expensive for a project like this?

No, but it is a lot more complex than you think.