Music instrument driving LEDs

Hi everyone.

So I’m new to the whole Arduino and MC world, although I’ve watching it from afar for some time.

I have now my first concrete project in mind, but not sure if it’s all possible.
But then we’ll soon be back to sending people to the moon, so I’m sure I’ll manage to light some LEDs

So, I’m playing the sousaphone (not me) in a brass band. I’d like to hook it up with addressable LEDs and basically have it light up in sync with what I’m playing.

I have no idea what sensor to use.

I think I cannot use microphone based sensors. With all my band mates playing + audience noise, that would be way too much interference wouldn’t it?

So my idea was to stick on it a vibration frequency sensor (?). Since it’s a brass instrument, when I’m blowing air into it it creates a sound wave of a distinct frequency, and the brass vibrates at the same frequency.

So I could code “if frequency <440hz and >400hz, light up in blue”, etc for each note of the scale.
Does that seem feasible ?

But I can’t find a suitable sensor. Not even sure what keywords to type into Google. All I can find as vibration sensor seem to be hooked up to a motor, to check if it’s running or not.

Sorry if that’s all a little confused. New to all this and not sure how to proceed, even on this forum.

Thanks to everyone who’d take the time reading this.

Aurel

and the brass vibrates at the same frequency.

No, mostly it’s vibrations in the air.*

With all my band mates playing + audience noise, that would be way too much interference wouldn’t it?

Yes and no… Stick your ear right up to the bell, or a microphone and record it, and the Sousaphone will strongly dominate.

So I could code “if frequency <440hz and >400hz, light up in blue”, etc for each note of the scale.
Does that seem feasible ?