My Control Surface show and tell with huge thanks to PieterP!

Because of how geeked out I am with the successful results of my midi controller project, I felt compelled to share it here and thank PieterP for the indispensable help of his Control Surface library. This project uses 4 faders, 5 potentiometers, 2 buttons, utilizes an 8 input multiplexer, and runs off a Pro Micro.

I do voice over for a living and I'm often in the booth for long stretches, sometimes recording several different narrations, one after another. My entire recording rig is software-based using the UA Apollo system. Making small recording level or playback volume changes, and even muting mic channels, was always something that could only be accomplished with mouse clicks. And as someone who grew up recording on analog devices, I wanted to be able to make these adjustments with one turn of a knob or one button press instead of having to execute it with several mouse clicks, or worse, adjusting a fader or dial with a mouse. None of the pre-built midi controllers fit the bill in terms of device size or functionality so once I discovered I could DIY a control surface myself, I knew that was the answer. Now, not having any coding or industrial design experience definitely made for a sharp learning curve, but as someone who has done electronics DIY and previously used YouTube to figure out how to do things like fix my refrigerator, fix my washing machine, learn how to paddle surf, etc... I knew I could start there and learn by watching other examples, which eventually led me here and Pieter's Control Surface library, which is so incredibly easy to implement.