My lcd isn't displaying properly using ac adapter

My lcd works fine through usb, but when i switch over using the ac it shows nothing. The blacklight is on, but it seems dimmer than before.

???

Sounds like your AC supply isn't putting out enough power. What's it rated for?

Ran

5v.... the guy at the store said that is what i needed.

How much current is it supposed to supply? It's probably enough, but might not be.

Also, which flavor of Arduino do you have? The boards I use almost all have an on-board voltage regulator, so they're supposed to be fed about 7-12V. But some versions don't have a regulator, and need a 5V supply.

If your board has a 5V regulator, feeding it 5V won't work, and may produce the kind of symptoms you're seeing.

Ran

sorry im new to all of this.

the adapter i have is DC+5.0V @ 1200mA
100-240VAC, 50/60Hz.

I have a red duemilanove.
errr basically im connecting the pins from the lcd to the "5v" on the arduino.

ok i think your right... this is from the description ". If supplied with less than 7V, however, the 5V pin may supply less than five volts and the board may be unstable."

Oops :wink:

You may want to hold on to that 5V supply: remember that the Arduino is limited in how much 5V it can provide to things you attach to it. If you want to experiment with, e.g., servos, a 1200mA supply is a nice size to run a couple.

The good news is that the supply for the Arduino doesn't need to be a more-expensive regulated one. You may already have a wall wart lying around for some other purpose that you can connect to it. If it's not regulated, I'd stick to about the 7-9V range, because unregulated supplies can swing much higher than their nominal voltage rating if you're not drawing near the rated amount of current. E.g., a 12V supply may well put out 17-18V if it's supplying little or no current.

Ran

geestring: