My motor shield is overheating when I run a DC motor

Hello, I'm pretty new to Arduino. I want to run a 6-12 volt DC motor from my Arduino Uno Rev 3. I have put Arduino Motor Shield Rev 3 on the Uno and tried a couple of setups. I am using Arduino 1.8.13 software to write and upload code. I am powering the Arduino Uno using a 9 volt battery pack connected to the power port.

First I connected a 9 volt battery pack to Vin and Gnd on the Motor Shield and uploaded this code to the Arduino Uno, then I ran the code, with the Arduino still connected to the PC:

void setup() {

}

void loop() {
digitalWrite(12, HIGH); //Establishes forward direction of Channel A
digitalWrite(9, LOW); //Disengage the Brake for Channel A
analogWrite(3, 255); //Spins the motor on Channel A at full speed
delay(3000); //

}

The motor turned very weakly and there was a burning smell from the Motor Shield (definitely not from the motor). I disconnected everything. I thought maybe the burning smell was because the battery pack and the PC were both supplying power, and I read that the motor turning weakly might be because I wasn't using enough power.

I got a 12 volt battery pack and connected that to Vin and Gnd on the motor shield. I uploaded the following code onto the Arduino with the battery pack and the motor shield disconnected:

bool fHasLooped = false;

void setup() {
pinMode(12, OUTPUT);
pinMode(9, OUTPUT);
pinMode(3, OUTPUT);
if ( fHasLooped == false )
{
for ( int x = 0; x < 10; x++ )
{
digitalWrite(12, HIGH); //Establishes forward direction of Channel A
digitalWrite(9, LOW); //Disengage the Brake for Channel A
analogWrite(3, 255); //Spins the motor on Channel A at full speed
delay(3000); //
}

fHasLooped = true;

}
}

void loop() {

}