My Program Goes Back to Setup Again and Again

Hi,

I am a newbie to Arduino programming. I am using Arduino Mega 2560.

I have connected a fingerprint sensor (pins 10 and 11) and wave shield as described in https://paulhartigan.net/2012/01/01/wave-shield-and-arduino-mega-2650/ (I have changed my configuration as needed for 2560).

After completing the wiring, program for finger print sensor runs as expected. Similarly, program for wave shield to play a WAV file also runs as expected.

However, when I combine both my programs, my program goes back to setup again and again.

Any reason, this might be happening? Is my Mega board just rebooting each time for some reason? If so, what can I do to prevent that.

Attached is my code. If I uncomment code, the program goes back to setup again and again.

• if (fpReturnValue == 104) {*
  • playByName(“4.WAV”, 2000);*
  • }*

If I keep this code commented, program works fine. However, I need to play different files based on return value of the function getFingerprintID.

Any pointers?

Thanks.

doorbell5.ino (5.2 KB)

You use pin 10 and 11 for SoftwareSerial, but that is often used for a chip-select. I’m not sure that the shield does no longer use it. The Mega board has enough pins, can you use other pins ?
See the reference which pins can be used : Arduino - SoftwareSerial
The pins A9 to A15 seem safe to use.

Resetting can occur with low power. Try a better USB cable. Do you power it with USB only from a laptop ? Do you have a 7.5V or 9V power supply to power it via the power barrel jack ?

Resetting might happen with ram overflow. But I don’t see large buffers.

An Arduino could reset with a bad ground or a missing ground wire. If for example the Arduino is connected to the ground of the computer and something else is connected with a different ground, that can reset it.

Perhaps the Mega board is a very cheap clone and resets for no reason.

while (!Serial);  // For Yun/Leo/Micro/Zero/...