My Senior Design Project - Controlling multiple devices with arduino

I am a mechanical engineering student and completely new to arduinos. For my senior design project I would like to automate different functions for a "smart" coffee table I am designing. My plan is to use the Bluetooth shield in order to control the features of the table from a smart phone. The mechanical components should come easily to me but the control systems and wiring will be a major hurdle.

I am early in the design phase but I have a basic idea of what things will need controlled and I have several road blocks ahead. Simple things like controlling multiple motors in order to unfold trays and how to power them. Controlling the power that is sent to a peltier tile in order to cool cup holders. There are other subsystems that may end up in the final design but getting past these basic things like sending power to multiple components and how many components can I control with an arduino I'd really like cleared up now.

Thanks to anyone who can help!

You will need to understand basic electronics in order to be successful.

Modular brushed D.C. motor drivers can be used to control Peltier tiles as well.

Learn how to use each different device one at a time in short Arduino programs.

You may be interested in this RemoteXY Thread.

You may find some useful stuff in Planning and Implementing a Program

...R

I want to buy one and play around by I guess the only thing stopping me is understanding whether or not there are real restrictions on how many components each arduino model can control.

There are no real restrictions. Sometimes it's convenient to use a small Arduino that only has a few output pins. Sometimes you use the big Mega that has 50 pins. Very few projects use more than the UNO can support.

Even if you somehow run out of I/O pins on an UNO, there are other "port extenders" that can recover the situation without having to redesign your product to fit the bigger board.