My shade project. Did I do good?

I thought my first arduino code project would be to make my shade go up and down based on a light sensor aimed outside. My shade is heavy so I’m using nema 17 and 3d printed worm gear. I looked at many other projects and did the tutorials but nothing was the same as what I needed so I made my own code. I placed an endstop at the bottom to know when the shade is closed and up works just by number of steps to move. The code is written so that it wont go down if the endstop is triggered already and it wont go up if the endstop isnt triggered.
After lots of playing around everything works as I want but being a newbie I would like to know if I did the code the way it should be and what improvements I can make.
Also I would like to add an override switch where I can move the shade up and down and ignore the light sensor. I think a 3 option switch (up,down,middle) would work but I dont know where to start with the code to implement that.
Thanks and all feedback welcome…

// heavy window shade project
// shade should open and close with daylight

#define dirPin 55
#define stepPin 54
#define X_ENABLE_PIN 38
#define home_switch 3 // For shade close Xmin
#define X_MAX_PIN 2 // to be used as override up switch
#define Y_MAX_PIN 15  // to be used for override down switch
#define lightSensorPin 13
byte HSval;
byte downSwitch = digitalRead(X_MAX_PIN);
byte upSwitch = digitalRead(Y_MAX_PIN);
float steps;

void setup(){
 Serial.begin(9600);
   pinMode(X_MAX_PIN, INPUT_PULLUP);
   pinMode(X_ENABLE_PIN , OUTPUT);
   pinMode(home_switch, INPUT_PULLUP);
   pinMode(stepPin, OUTPUT);
   pinMode(dirPin, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(X_ENABLE_PIN , LOW);
pinMode (lightSensorPin, INPUT);

}

void loop () {
int lightVal=analogRead(lightSensorPin);    
Serial.println(lightVal);
HSval = digitalRead(home_switch);
if (lightVal > 900 & HSval == HIGH)  // if its dark outside and the endstop isnt triggered (shade is not down)...
    do
    {