My very first code, Looking for feedback...

This is the first code I've ever written. I'm new to programming so excuse my lack of knowledge. I wrote this for an automatic water top off for my reef aquarium. I've seen a lot of examples with people using regular mechanical float switches but I wanted to do something better by using optical IR liquid level. I added the delays because the optical level is really sensitive so when it would get close to triggering it would turn on the pump ON for a split second repeatedly until the water level was low enough to fully trigger. Is there a better way of doing this. I also wanted to somehow add a functionality that if the sensor was triggered ON for more than 1 minute without turning OFF it would shut down the whole system. Ill will gladly take suggestions on how to do this.

here is my code:

const int analogPin = A0;       // pin that is attached to IR liquid sensor
const int pump = 12;            // pin that is attached to the transister NTE253 that triggers the pump ON
const int threshold = 800;      // an arbitrary threshold level that's in the range of the analog input

void setup(){
  pinMode (pump,OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop() {
 int analogValue = analogRead(analogPin);
  if (analogValue > threshold) {
  delay (500);  
    digitalWrite(pump, HIGH);
  delay (500);
  } 
  else {
    digitalWrite(pump, LOW);
  delay (20000);
  }
  Serial.println(analogValue);
  delay (1000);
}

THIS CODE SUCKS !

(no just kidding, ha ha . XD I'll take a look at it ...)

I added the delays because the optical level is really sensitive so when it would get close to triggering it would turn on the pump ON for a split second repeatedly until the water level was low enough to fully trigger.

A common control problem solved by adding hysteresis. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hysteresis)