N Gauge model railway lighting

I have no electronic experience so please forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong place.
I am seeking advice as to what equipment I would need to purchase to enable me to control say 20 leds.
I want the leds to fade on and off individually in a random pattern or in a controlled sequence.
At a later date I would also like to be able to operate small servo motors so that I can automate cranes for example.

Thank you.

Roy

An Uno has twenty pins that can be used for digital output, so it could handle your lighting needs with nothing more than the LEDs and some current limiting resistors.

It also has the ability to control up to 12 servos, although that would cost you digital pins. If you add in some shift registers, you can control the lights using fewer digital pins and still control the servos.

Alternatively, the Mega has enough pins to do both without extra hardware but it's more expensive. Since you have no experience with electronics, I'd suggest you start with an Uno (or equivalent) as it'll be cheaper to replace if you have any accidents that damage it.

As well as the pins to connect to the LEDs and servos you also need to consider how you are going to give instructions to the Arduino. And it's not really practical to think of an Uno having 20 pins as two of them are used for serial communication with a PC and you will need these for programming or debugging.

If you control the LEDs and servos using a screen on the PC then you don't need any extra pins for input. But if you plan to use switches or potentiometers to control things they will also need to be allocated to one of the pins.

On the other hand if the LEDs are controlled in groups one pin should do each group - but make sure not to exceed the Arduino's current limit of about 20mA per pin. If you need more it is easy to use a transistor to boost the current capability.