nano 328 no longer connecting to PC. is the board dead?

Nano 328
Windows 7 64bit

I was working on a laser tag project earlier today and all was working well. After coming home from the grocery store when i powered the board back on i was getting some garbage in serial print fields when pressing a button. (1 hour earlier this was working perfectly) After a reset the L led would continuously blink and the board was no longer being recognized by Windows. After unplugging and re plugging the usb cord several times the rx and tx leds stopped responding all together.

Currently when the board is plugged in the pwr led is lit faintly and I'm only getting 1.8v across the 5v pin and gnd.

I'm very new to all of this so I don't really know how to do much.

Do any of the chips get hot?

no, none of the chips get warm at all

Then my first guess would be a loose connection.
Since the power seems not to be dissipated, the only reason the 5V could be low is if there is resistance in line or the supply is bad

Ive had some intermittent connections issues with the micro usb jack. Ive completely pulled the board out of the project board I was working on so there's no way I could have crossed a pin or added resistance.

How can I test for/ correct a loose connection?

I looked at the jack and saw the input wires on the usb jack. The power wire from that is showing 5v. So if the usb jack is definitely getting 5v, but the board output is only 1.8v is something broken on the board?

Where does the 5v drop to 1.8v?

the connection to the board its self gets 5v, as for where it drops exactly i don't really know what to check. the pwr led is only getting 1.7 like all the output pins.

It would be normal for the power light to only get 1.8v since it has a resistor and the LED will pull it down to its break down voltage.
The LED should not be faint :roll_eyes: I am afraid I am confused.

it seems like there's an issue with the FTDI chip.