Nano circuit runs on battery but won't start

Hi, arduino noob here
I’m building a small wooden box that opens via fingerprint sensor.
I have an Arduino nano with a small servo and a fingerprint reader attached. Everything is fine when powered from USB. I want to power it from batteries, as I want to keep the circuit inside the box.

I have 4 AA batteries connected to the VIN pin, which seems to boot the Nano, but then nothing happens. The servo is supposed to move to its start position, and the fingerprint sensor is supposed to light up. As I said this works fine when powered from USB.

However, if I start everything from USB, then connect the batteries and disconnect the USB, everything keeps running fine. Fingerprint sensor works, servo works.

My guess is that the batteries can’t provide necessary power to start the fingerprint sensor, servo and arduino nano at the same time.

Could I insert a delay somewhere in the starting process, to keep everything from wanting power at the same time?

Fingerprint sensor looks like this. Current max <140 mA.

Datasheet for servo here
Current max <600 mA.

Rest of the circuit is one switch to connect/disconnect batteries, and one button. No LEDs.
Thanks.

Post a pic of your actual wiring.

Are all GNDs connected?

Servo's can take over 1AMP when under load...

Are your 4 AA batteries fresh?

Hi, thanks for replying!

I tried to draw the circuit, at least + and - wiring. Not included in drawing is two wires from Fingerprint Sensor to D2 and D3 on Nano. One wire from Servo to D7 on Nano. One simple pushbutton connected to GND and D9.

Batteries, 4 x AA, fresh.

Servo is small, weighs 11g. A small screw is attached to servo arm (part of the simple lock mechanism).

circuit_box.pdf (18.4 KB)