Need a heatsink for Arduino Duemilanove

Hi All,

I am a bit new to this and have a problem. I have a Arduino Duemilanove which i will be using to power a servo which has a camera mounted on it. This will all be mounted on a boat that is traveling at up to 58kph. That side of it all works with a bit of help from th esample sketches. the problem is that i am powering the Arduino Duemilanove from the boat 12v battery and the voltage regulator is getting very hot, as this will be on for several hours at a time. What are my options? I was looking for a heatsink that i can attach to the Arduino Duemilanove but can not find one that is small enough that will disapate enough heat?

I have seen posts about adding an external voltage regulator. Is this the way to go or is a heatsink better?

Thanks

Ian..

You'd be better off with a DC-DC converter to power the Arduino - much more efficient.

which i will be using to power a servo which has a camera mounted on

does this mean you're powering (as opposed to simply controlling) the servo from the Arduino's regulator?

Hi,

Yes, the servo is getting the 5v from the 5v pin on the Arduino. Its a standard model type servo, but quite a powerful one. The camera does not take a lot of power to move as it is mounted on a pivot. Will the Arduino cope with that sort of load?

What sort of DC-DC converter should i use. I have seen a few voltage regulators (3 pin chip type) that will convert the voltage from 12v to 5v. Is that what i need?

Thanks
Ian…

Power the servo with a separate power supply. The 40mA output is probably being a bit overloaded by the servo and pulling more juice then the onboard regulator can quickly dissipate (the copper area the regulator is mounted to is quite small).

Edit: use just a standard 5V regulator TO-220 so you can easily heatsink it, and swith it with a transistor.