Need advice on Arduino + RFID home smart system

Hi,

I'm Aizul.

First of all, I have no background on Electrical Engineering or any logic circuit and diagrams but I can read few pins and gates. I need advice on an assignment regarding home smart system. I need to come up with a design. So, I'm going to use RFID and Arduino. The assignment need only the design and some research and analysis on it. I need not to build the system. I am planning to design it like,

1. Microcontroller to control the behaviour (on/off/unlock/lock) of lamp, door, refrigerator and music player.
  2. Each of those 5 devices has an RFID reader.
  3. All RFID readers are connected by usb into a usb hub.
  4. Usb hub will connect directly to microcontroller (Arduino).

So here are the questions:

1. Can this be done?
  2. Can I connect the readers like that?
  3. Can I use the usb for that purpose? or is it use for something else?
  4. Will the data travel from readers to usb of Arduino? Or I need another device in between?
  5. Is the usb on Arduino Uno the only way to communicate with PC?
  6. Which RFID module do you recommend?
  7. What number system Arduino used?
  8. Do you have better suggestion?

I think that's all for now. This assignment is only for research and design. Don't worry about prices. I just need to know if it's going to work or not. If not, please share your reasoning. :slight_smile:

These are few of the requirements that I need to submit for my assignment:
Number System
Boolean Algebra
Gates and combinational logic circuit

I'm not sure what the boolean algebra wants. Does Arduino have that?

Btw, Arduino has not reached my country yet. I hope this assignment could introduce Arduino in my country XD

1. All RFID readers are connected by usb into a usb hub.
  2. Usb hub will connect directly to microcontroller (Arduino).