Need Advice on Battery for 2 12V 100 RPM DC Gear Motors

Hello, I am an engineering student working on a team based project. I am seeking knowledge on selecting the right battery to run a system with the following components:

Arduino Uno
Vellman VMA03 motor-shield
2 DC Geared Motors - 12V 100RPM by DFRobot

All together the box weighs 1.1 kg or 2.425 lbs with out any batteries.

In a recent test, our team hooked up a bench power supply to the rear motor. The single motor drew 0.2 A with no load and 0.6 A with a load. Our test successfully rotated the rear axel and was able to pick the aft end of the box off of the ground.

Our team theorized that we need approximately 0.6 + 0.6 = 1.2 A to successfully run both motors in tandem under load.

I need to find a battery that can produce 12V and 1.2 A in the smallest weight possible.

If the battery is rechargeable that is a bonus. If the battery can fit and ride in the box that is better.

Our end goal is to turn both motors at the same rpm, rotate all 4 “feet” together, to lift and push the box forward in straight line.

Thank you,

Henry

Please display your image(s) in your post so we can see it(them) without downloading it(them). See this Simple Image Posting Guide

You have not said how long the motors need to run on a single charge - that will determine the capacity of the batteries needed.

A pack of 10 x AA NiMh rechargeable cells will give to 12v but maybe not much run-time.

A 3S LiPo pack will give about 11 v and and a 4S pack will give about 15v. The batteries will probably be considerably smaller for a given capacity but a proper LiPo charger is essential if you don’t want to have a fire. The Hobby King website has a wide range of LiPo cells - and chargers.

…R

Thank you Robin for the quick response.

Images displayed now.