Need advice on Common Anode RGB Led and Transistor

Hi All,

Im slowly and surely learning electronics and c programming, and ive hit a stumbling block while planing my first real-life project.

I have an arduino + wifi + Common anode RGB leds

i want to wire a strip of 20 RGB leds together so that i can add mood lighting behind coving) to a new tv installation .

I am figuring out best way to wire the leds up and how to drive the current drawn by 20leds and where to use resistors.

Now ive come to the conclusion i will need a transistor for each color, and i will send a pwm output to the corresponding tranny for colour brightness. Is this best way to go?

Next, if using my idea, if i wire the common anodes to a 5v rail, then each colour to a rail from its correspsonding transistor emitter, will this work. Im new to transistors and wondering how i would "pull down" the line to light the led up. Would i use a NPN and the more current i apply at the Base, the dimmer the colour? so to have the LED off i would apply full power to the Tranny?

I hope this makes sense and hope someone can help me help myself

Good question. I'm giving you a very rough answer here.

Basically a transistor can be used as a switch where its off (also called cutoff) and fully on (also called saturation). It can also be used as a variable resistor that can be varied between off and on (also sometimes called active or linear mode). Its not really a true variable resistor for various reasons. What you want to do is use it in saturation mode.

The current gain specified as Hfe or sometimes beta gives you an indication of what the collector current should be in relation to the base current. In other words you multiply the base current by the Hfe (or beta) value and you have the collector current ( this is where the ability of a transistor to "amplify" is apparent). This works when the transistor is in active mode.