Need feasibility guidance on Lithium ion battery storage project.

I am an embedded software engineer and have a background in EE. However, I have a personal project idea that may require many products that I am only superficially acquainted with. I am looking for guidance on which components will allow me to meet my design goals. I am hoping to avoid many days of on-line research by relying on your expertise. I have done some reading on this forum to see if any previous topics were close enough to be helpful. My project is not radically new, but the configuration and application I have in mind is different enough that I feel justified in starting this new topic.

The project is a battery management system (BMS) used to manage a personal energy storage system. I will use a series stack of 40 AH lithium ion battery cells. The series stack consists of 16 cells. Thus, the DC output if the stack is approximately 50 volts. I will use an inverter to produce 110 VAC to power small appliances and lights in areas where there is no power, such as when I am camping in the mountains.

I like the idea of using Arduino compatible products to implement the BMS because they are inexpensive and highly supported by the huge open source development community. However, I am new to this community and don't know what all is available. One of my goals is to use libraries, apps, boards and shields that are already developed and proven, so I can minimize my personal development time and avoid a lot of customization for the project.

These are the specifications and goals of the BMS design.