Need general programming (direction) advice. A little confusion.

I am new to programming and Arduinio in particular. I have been reading a lot about the Arduino world. There is much talk of Java and much about C / C++ and so on.

I have a good grasp of the Arduino programming language and have made several small projects with GPS, IR, PIR, SD cards, I2C and so on... but now want to learn more: what is under the hood and how it works in terms of programming and deeper access of the micro-controller (ATmega328P).

I work full time and have a family: time is limited. Is it best for me to learn standard (ie: Sun Microsystems) Java or better to learn C, or C++ or C#? I do not see a clear "best way" from what I read (and what little I understand now).

I want to be able to understand more than just if / then / else / for / while and so on.

So when I see C code and libs i can understand line by line what the external code is actually doing and so on.

Thanks for any and all advice.

Well, Arduino code is C++, a run-time environment, and a hardware abstraction layer. So if you have a good grasp of the Arduino programming language then you already have a good grasp of C++.

To go deeper, you may need to learn a little assembler.

The only connection between Java and Arduino that I am aware of is that the IDE is written in java.

The Arduino "Language" is C++, though mostly it's pretty C-like. C# would probably be a mistake.
The Arduino IDE is WRITTEN in Java, but otherwise has nothing to do with Java.

I would probably start with trying to learn C, since a C class/textbook/etc is less likely to veer off into topics that are relatively inapplicable to Arduino or Embedded systems in general.