Need guidence on script to drive 2 DC motors concurrently

Hi Guys,
I am a noob here and experimenting with interfacing arduino UNO + Motor shield with a RC Track truck.
I started off using the test script controlling one motor and it works fine. The track truck has 2 DC motors powered by a 9.6V NiMH battery. I modified the test script for 2nd motor and it isnt working. Can you please reveiw the script and let me know the problem.
I made sure the led light on the motor shield lights up and using the same 9.6V battery to power arduino and the track truck and can see the debug output in serial monitor.

Let me know if you have any questions.
Thanks

#include <AFMotor.h>

AF_DCMotor motor1(1, MOTOR12_64KHZ); // create motor #1,64KHz pwm
AF_DCMotor motor2(2, MOTOR12_64KHZ); // create motor2 #2, 64KHz pwm

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600); // set up Serial library at 9600 bps
Serial.println(“Motor test! modified run”);

motor2.setSpeed(255); // set the speed to 200/255
motor1.setSpeed(255); // set the speed to 200/255
}

void loop()
{

Serial.print("!!tick motor1 forward ");
motor1.run(FORWARD); // turn it on going forward
motor1.run(RELEASE); // stopped

Serial.print("tick motor2 forward ");
motor2.run(FORWARD); // turn it on going forward

delay(3000);

Serial.print(“tock”);
Serial.print(“tock motor1 backward”);
motor1.run(BACKWARD);

motor2.run(BACKWARD); // the other way
motor2.run(RELEASE); // stopped
delay(3000);
Serial.print("** motor1 & motor2 Released **");

}

motor2.run(FORWARD);      // turn it on going forward 
  motor1.run(RELEASE);      // stopped

Shouldn't that RELEASE be for motor2?

Please use code tags when posting code.

Thank you.
I made the correction and uploaded the code. It is still the same. There is no no hum from motors. I tested connecting the motor directly to battery and they spin fine. I measured the voltage across battery terminals and its 10.64. At M1 and M2 I am not reading any voltage, its 0. Please find the picture with connections.