Need help adding a delay/duration to a digitalWrite function

Hello, first off thanks for helping,

Introduction: I have a simple program I need help with. This is my first arduino project so I am a very novice. I have tried to find a solution to my problem online first but I cant quite find someone doing what I am or at least I dont know the right "buzz" words to make a effective search on the topic.

Problem: I have a flame effect that I would like to power the ignition source and electric solenoid valve with one button. I am using a taser as my ignition source but it only needs to run for 1 -2 seconds before it should turn off BUT I want my electronic solenoid valve to stay open as long as I push my momentary switch. I cant find out how to accomplish this.

Here is my code so far to just turn on both the Taser and electronic solenoid on when I push my momentary switch. I tried messing with delay and millis stuff a little but could not get it to work how I wanted.

[u]Fire Effects Program[/u]

// pin definitions int tazPin = 2; int solPin = 3; int buttonPin = 4; int toggleState; unsigned long time_since_last_reset = 0; int duration = 2000;

void setup() { pinMode(tazPin, OUTPUT); pinMode(solPin, OUTPUT); pinMode(4,INPUT_PULLUP); Serial.begin(9600); delay(150); }

void loop() { toggleState = digitalRead(buttonPin); if (toggleState == LOW) { Serial.println("Button is pushed."); digitalWrite(solPin, LOW); digitalWrite(tazPin, LOW);

}else{ Serial.println("Button is NOT pushed."); digitalWrite(tazPin, HIGH); digitalWrite(solPin, HIGH); }

}

I know this is a simple problem so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I am excited that I am now diving into the world of arduinos! the scopes of my projects have now expanded greatly

Welcome to the forums! Please read the sticky post at the top of the forum about how to properly post code (using code tags) so that people can more easily help you.

Based on your problem description, I would recommend looking at two examples: