Need help and guidance for making an interactive free museum

Hello my name is Gabriel Colon my grandfather that passed away is a veteran of the World War 2… next year he would’ve been 100 years old and i want to make a museum in honor to all the Veterans with his name

I have some knowledge in computer

but i need help finding the right equipment for a interactive museum…
my idea is this

i want to have 3-4 wall with this design

a proximity sensor that can detect a person infront of a wall and when it detects a person it would start a mp3 recording and also dim and turn on some lights for some walls i would like to have a tv hooked up so it could play a short video…

the problem is i have no idea where to start with this and i heard about the arduino products that might help me to accomplish so i ask your help to guide me in the right direction so we can get this museum up and running by the end of the year

You could use a PIR sensor to detect when somebody moves in front of an exhibit - the sort of thing that is used to turn on security lights.

how about for dimming them, video playback and music playback? is there like a sensor i can hook to a computer and map it all ?

A computer can play music and videos.

You could use the Arduino as an interface between the PC and the lamps, and between the PC and the motion sensor(s).

it might be a little much to ask but could you give me a list of equipment’s i need to make this happen?