Need Help: Burning Arduino Mega 2560 Bootloader

Hi all,

I am a real newbie here and I really need the arduino experts to help me.

Would anyone please give me any instruction of how to burn the arduino mega 2560 bootloader? It has been over 1 month since I can't upload any sketches from the arduino IDE.

I have tried to burn it through the IDE to no avail, and I have tried to burn it through the AVR Studio with no result.

I can only burn it through the AVR Studio 4 with AVR ISP external programmer.

Would anyone please give advice for this matter? What fuse and lockbit setting should I burn the bootloader?

Regards,
lkm253

Hi to you.
I wouldn't class myself as an Arduino expert, and I don't have an Atmega2560, but I have had success burning bootloaders to Atmega328 (Duemilanove) by following the instructions here -
http://www.geocities.jp/arduino_diecimila/bootloader/index_en.html
Atmega 2560 is in the list of supported devices in the Avrdude-gui, so it might work. You will need to work out which pins are for the SPI interface, and wire accordingly.
Can't help with definitive fuse info, but this may help - http://frank.circleofcurrent.com/fusecalc/fusecalc.php
Good luck.

Fuse setting for the mega2560 are given in the boards.txt file:

##############################################################

mega2560.name=Arduino Mega 2560

mega2560.upload.protocol=stk500v2
mega2560.upload.maximum_size=258048
mega2560.upload.speed=115200

mega2560.bootloader.low_fuses=0xFF
mega2560.bootloader.high_fuses=0xD8
mega2560.bootloader.extended_fuses=0xFD
mega2560.bootloader.path=stk500v2
mega2560.bootloader.file=stk500boot_v2_mega2560.hex
mega2560.bootloader.unlock_bits=0x3F
mega2560.bootloader.lock_bits=0x0F

mega2560.build.mcu=atmega2560
mega2560.build.f_cpu=16000000L
mega2560.build.core=arduino

##############################################################

Lefty

hi guys,